Dui Dmv Hearing
The moment you are arrested in Century City for DUI, the clock begins ticking on your ability to keep your driver’s license. In order to preserve your driving privileges after a drunk driving arrest, you must file for a DMV hearing within 10 calendar days. If you are arrested in Century City for DUI, an attorney may be provided for you for your criminal case if you cannot afford to hire one. However, since the DMV hearing is not a criminal proceeding, a public defender will not be provided. It is of the utmost importance that you enlist the services of a highly experienced DUI specialist like Larry Wolf. He has helped thousands of men and women to prevail in their DMV hearing and keep their freedom to drive.
Your drunk driving arrest depends on what the police see, hear and do, but your freedom can depend on your DUI defense lawyer in Century City. Request your free consultationonline or call the offices of Lawrence Wolf at (310) 277-1707 today to help ensure your chances of a favorable DMV hearing.
Requesting a DMV Hearing
When you are arrested in Century City for DUI, the arresting officer will confiscate your license and give you a pink “notice of suspension.” This means that your driving privileges will be automatically suspended by the DMV 30 days from the date of the notice UNLESS you schedule a DMV hearing within 10 days and request that the suspension be stayed. If you do not schedule a DMV hearing, your license will automatically be suspended for 4 months.
Following your arrest, it is your duty to submit your DMV hearing request directly to the DMV. This request contains information pertaining to your arrest, and it is critical that it is completed and submitted in a strategic way. An experienced Century City DUI lawyer such as Larry will guide you through this process and improve your odds of keeping your license.
At Your DMV Hearing
Unlike other crimes in the U.S., the government allows a DUI to be tried twice: during your DMV hearing and in the criminal court. A DMV hearing will take place before a DMV officer who will question you and ultimately make the ruling on your license suspension. Since so much is on the line, it is not recommended that you represent yourself at this hearing.
Remember that it is up to the state to prove that they have reason to suspend your California driver’s license, just as it is the police officer’s duty to prove that they had reason to pull you over in the first place. No matter what the charges, an accomplished DUI defense lawyer in Century City will be able to dispute breathalyzer accuracy and the results, field sobriety test results, and other case related factors that resulted in your arrest. At the DMV, Larry will draw from his more than 40 years of experience with these hearings to maximize your chances of keeping your license.
You may be penalized by both the DMV and the court, and your DUI penalties in Century City will increase if you have been convicted of one or more prior DUIs.
In California, if your chemical test results in a BAC of 0.08 or more for your first offense, the DMV has the right to suspend your driver’s license for 4 months. There is a possibility that you may be able to acquire a restricted driver’s license, which allows you to drive to specifically designated locations, such as your school or place of employment. If you refused to submit to a chemical test, your license can be suspended for one year.
Time is of the essence when it comes to getting a Century CityDUI lawyer to represent you at your DMV hearing. Request your free consultation online or call the offices of Lawrence Wolf at (310) 277-1707 today and get things moving in the right direction.
Get your questions answered - call me for your free, 20 min phone consultation (310) 277-1707.